skip to main content
Resource type Show Results with: Show Results with: Search type Index

Bienal Americana de Arte records, 1961-1969, 1977.

Bienal Americana de Arte.

Available at Special Collections  SPECIAL COLLECTIONS - CONTACT REFERENCE  (970074** ) and other locations()

  • Title:
    Bienal Americana de Arte records, 1961-1969, 1977.
  • Author/Creator: Bienal Americana de Arte.
  • Creation Date: 1961-1969, 1977.
  • Biographical/Historical Note: The Bienal Americana de Arte was a Latin American art biennial that took place in Argentina in 1962, 1964, and 1966 under the sponsorship of Industrias Kaiser Argentina (IKA) and was directed by Christian Sorenson. It was preceded by five contemporary art Salons featuring Argentine artists. Herbert Read headed the jury for the first Bienal, Umbro Apollino headed the jury for the second Bienal, and the jury for the third Bienal included Alfred Barr, Arnold Bode, Sam Hunter, Aldo Pellegrini and Carlos Raúl Villanueva.
  • Arrangement: Arranged in five series: Series I. Salons, 1961-1967; Series II. I Bienal Americana de Arte, 1961-1963; Series III. II Bienal Americana de Arte, 1963-1967; Series IV. III Bienal Americana de Arte, 1961-1977; Series V. Experimental music, 1962-1977.
  • Physical Desc.: 20.61 linear feet (26 boxes, 9 flatfile folders, 1 roll).
    1 sound disc : analog, 33 1/3 rpm ; 12 in..
    8 reel-to-reel tapes..
    1 audiocassette..
  • Summary: The Bienal Americana de Arte records provide partial documentation of the planning, realization, and reception of Salons IV and V and Bienals I, II, and III. The Salons are grouped into one series, each Bienal into its own series, and there is a separate series for the Experimental music section of the third Bienal coordinated by Magda Sorenson. All of the series include administrative papers and ephemera. Series III. and IV. have more extensive and varied records, including correspondence, photographs, and slides, which reflect the growing scope and impact of the second and third Bienals. Series V. includes correspondence with and a score by John Cage and audio recordings of works by the following composers: Earle Brown, Alcides Lanza, Nelly Moretto, and Jorge de la Vega in addition to two compilations.
  • Language: Spanish
  • Form/Genre: Sound recordings
    Photographic prints
    Photographs, Original
    Black-and-white photographs -- Latin America -- 20th century
    Color slides -- Latin America -- 20th century
  • Subjects: Art, Latin American -- 20th century Avant-garde (Music)
  • Contributors: Apollonio, Umbro, 1911-1981. Barr, Alfred H., Jr., 1902-1981. Bode, Arnold, 1900-1977. Brown, Earle, 1926-2002. Cage, John. Hunter, Sam, 1923-2014. Lanza, Alcides. Moretto, Nelly, 1925-1978. Pellegrini, Aldo. Read, Herbert, 1893-1968. Sorenson, Christian. Sorenson, Magda. Vega, Jorge de la, 1930-1971. Villanueva, Carlos Raúl, 1900-1975. Industrias Kaiser Argentina. Industrias Kaiser Argentina Salon.
  • ID/Accession Number: 1405-393
  • Access/Rights: Open for use by qualified researchers. Audio visual materials are unavailable until reformatted.
  • OCLC Record Number: 80149131
  • Source: GRI Library Catalog

Searching Remote Databases, Please Wait